Firdaus Tarmizi

The Hills are Alive! (Part 2)

In Musical Films, Reviews on July 13, 2011 at 9:00 pm

Note:  This is the second installment of the 7-part series.  You can read the first part here.

2.  Movie:  West Side Story

Ahh, West Side Story.  The movie adapted from a Broadway musical, which in turn was adapted from Romeo and Juliet.  I can’t resist the gritty feel of Manhattan, and the flamboyant yet crass behaviors of the Jets and the Sharks (the Montague and Capulet of this adaptation).  And yes, Natalie Wood.  I had a big crush on Natalie Wood right after watching this movie.  Well, I still do have a soft spot for her even now.

Natalie Wood - from http://www.classichollywoodbios.com/nataliewood.htm

*Doki Doki*

Favorite song:  I Feel Pretty

Isn’t it weird that amid the more famous songs like “Tonight” and “Maria” and “Somewhere”, I fell in love with the simple but catchy tunes of “I Feel Pretty”.  With the cherry jig and Maria’s infectious enthusiasm, I can’t help but picture the whole scene whenever I even think of the “Lalalalala la la la lalaaa” melody.

 

 

Special mention:  America

Two reasons:   First, the choreography, which seems chaotic and all over the place, but actually an excellent representation of the independent Sharks, with everyone doing the same steps but with individual flavors (check out starting from minute 5:15).

Second, the terrific acting of Rita Moreno.  You can just see how she’s having fun as Anita.  Doesn’t hurt that she’s sexy as hell too.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment