Firdaus Tarmizi

The Hills are Alive! (Part 3) – Oliver!

In Musical Films on July 23, 2011 at 9:37 pm

Note:  This is the third installment of the 7-part series.  You can read the rest of the series here.

2.  Movie:  Oliver!

I remembered that the first musical films I saw was the trio of the Sound of Music, the King and I, and Oliver!.  And I also recall that Oliver! was the one that made me feel the most confusing myriad of emotions.  I felt uplifted, jolly, melancholic and grateful, all at the same time.  I guess that’s why the tagline of the film is “Much More than a Musical”

Oliver!  from http://en.wikipedia.org

The poster kind of sums the story up, really. Except for the ending of course.

 

Favorite Song:  Who Will Buy?

There’s a lot of jovial songs in Oliver!, and it might be hard for me to choose my second most favorite.  But it’s easy to choose the number 1, and it’s this:

I think what always attracted me to this whole song/scene is the way it started seamlessly, accompanied by birds chirping in the beautiful morning.  Boy, I do love my mornings.  Perhaps that’s why I love this song so much.  I also adore the way the song builds up and perfectly ended with the marching band (never mind Dodger and Bill Sikes at the end).

And of course, there’s not that many ways nowadays you can legitimately sing “I’m so high, I swear I could fly!”.

Special mention:  Fagin!

No, it’s not the title of the song.  It’s just that you simply can’t mention Oliver! without mentioning the awesomeness that is Fagin.  I remembered wanting to be a pick pocket after watching this movie.  The dreary and tough life doesn’t seem too bad if you can sing and dance with Fagin, right?

Hence, my special mention for this entry is a tie between “You’ve Got to Pick a Pocket or Two” and “Be Back Soon”.

  1. Is it fine to insert a portion of this in my weblog if I submit a reference point to this web page?

Leave a Reply

