Firdaus Tarmizi

Newbie BodyRocker Firdaus: Team Malaysia

In Health and Fitness, Self-Improvement on July 11, 2011 at 9:00 pm

1.  I have been working out throughout my college days, but I restricted myself to weight training.  At that point, I foolishly dismissed the importance of cardio.  Who needs to be able to run straight for 2 hours, when you can look like a heavenly ripped Christian Bale in American Psycho?  Right?

Christian Bale (from myfittribe.com)

Yummy. Umm err that's what my wife said *cough* *cough*

WRONG!  I found out the hard way how cardio is the lifeline to overall fitness when I agreed to keep my wife (my girlfriend at that point) company in one of her aerobic sessions.  I started confidently enough, puffing up my chest and flexing my muscles to the beat of the music.  15 minutes into the 1 hour session, I nearly blacked out and had to be carried to the side of the gym by a small elderly aunty, who then continued with her aerobic session as if nothing happened.

2.  Somehow, I stopped working out after I got married.  Maybe that’s what comfortable, happy living can do to you.  Luckily, stories of young friends (30 something) dying due to heart attack, stroke and raptured blood vessels managed to convince me that I’ll die in a few years if I don’t change my lifestyle.  Friends like Hazwan, Faiezy and Farah who are active in joining marathon, mountain climbing etc, also served as my inspiration.

3.  Since then, I have been slowly building up my fitness level through running and light aerobics.  I have to admit that cardio workout, for me, tend to be monotonous.  You just got to spice it up with great music along the way.  Recently, however, I found a great, fun alternative and addition to my exercise set list :  the BodyRock home workout movement.  Of course, you have to realize that it is mostly High Intensity Interval training, but that’s why it’s so awesome: you spend just around 10-15 minutes a day to get the same amount of sweat as a 1 hour run.

4.  It also doesn’t hurt to admit that part of the reason I love BodyRock is because I dig the instructor: Zuzana.  She’s adorable, with her unique accent and wide sweet smile.  Go ahead watch this video and tell me you are not entranced with her.

5.  So now, my normal workout week includes running, some weight training, with BodyRock workouts sprinkled in between.  You fill definitely see a steady increase in strength and fitness level when you continue your exercise plans diligently.  For the exercise above for instance, I only managed to get 15 repetitions (!) the first time, and around 30 reps the next few times, but now I am at the range of 50 reps each time I do it.

6.  Lastly, I would have to say how I am a great believer of no shortcuts to fitness and health and fat loss.  I do not believe in Herbalife, Premium Beautiful or any of these bull crap slimming tea as alternative to HEALTHY weight management.  You are just kidding yourself if you think that any ingested product or something that you simply put on can actually make you healthier and fitter without any real effort and sacrifices.

7.  On that note, let’s all get off the couch and start to BodyRock!  http://www.bodyrock.tv/

  1. oh, unique accent and wide sweet smile….rriiiiiight….!

    i tried kickboxing on channel 706 yesterday.
    seronok tapi hari ni sengal2 hahah

    bila yop exercise? petang?

    • I was serious about the unique accent and sweet smile. Other attributes can be appreciated also if you want to :p

      Buat kick boxing hari2! After a few weeks tak sengal dah. Nanti bontot pun jadi bontot j-lo.

      Running petang on weekdays, pagi on weekends. The BodyRocking, anytime I can find 10-15 minutes. Nice, right?

  2. nice! kene rajin je…hoho

  3. Ait dah ada blog. Jom kayak around pangkor eoy. I need a buddy.

  4. […] you are obese or overweight, you simply gotta lose those pounds.  Remember what I said about cardio before?  This is definitely where your running and Elliptical-ling will come in handy.  Practice […]

  5. are you still body rocking? how’s it going for you?

    • Down to 79 kg from 86 kg within a few months. Not sure whether it is from the occasional bodyrocking, or the occasional half-marathon training, or simply due to work stress and bad nutrition. Either way, need to buck up!

Leave a Reply

