Firdaus Tarmizi

Parental Rules

In Family, Parenthood on July 8, 2011 at 10:53 pm

I think somebody should write some simple yet comprehensive set of rules of what you can and can’t do to your children.  Something along the line of, “You should not hold your baby by the leg upside down” or “You should never allow your baby to lick your navel clean”.

This is because there are a few things I am not sure whether they are normal parental practice, or just something my wife and I cooked up as we go along.

Examples:

1.  When my son had a runny nose, I distracted him with songs and dances.  When he had his attention elsewhere and was relatively still , I quickly swooped in and suck the snot and fluid out.  Granted, he’ll be wailing indignantly after that, but hey it worked all the time.

Wahhh

Waahhhhh stop the snot-suck ambush!!!

2.  My wife and I found out that our son does his best bowel movements when he is in his Bumbo seat.  We found this out the hard way when once, after a meal, we heard a loud PROOTTT!!, and saw the sudden stillness of Hamzah’s facial expression.  What followed was plenty of washing of the seat with water and industrial strength soap.  So, right now, each time we want him to poo, we’ll just leave him in the Bumbo seat.

Bumbo

Wur hur hur it's coming it's coming get ready. You got some cleaning up to do.

3.   This last one is not really a practise that we have, but just something I secretly love to do.  When we meet other parents and their babies, we like to put the babies next to each other, usually to snap pictures of them.  This is perfectly normal.  I, however, would sometimes “prod” them to wrestle each other.  Hilarity will usually ensue, both in the flurry of small fists and feet, and also in the panicky effort of the moms to stop them.

Hiyaaa

Man... I'm gonna have to teach him to be gentler to girls

So, are these normal behavior on a parent’s part?

Leave a Reply

