Firdaus Tarmizi

The Plan

In Self-Improvement on July 7, 2011 at 2:45 pm

My plan is simple.   I’ll be using Covey’s 7 Habits as my platform.  Since embarking on this self-improvement by itself is part of Habit 1 (Be Proactive), I’ll use Habit 7 (Sharpen the Saw) as my basis of setting my Habit 2 (Begin with the End in Mind).  If none of these makes sense to you, you can try to pick up the gist of it here.

The book that I have looks like this:

7 Habits

OK maybe it looks worse than this due to heavy usage

So, the targets that I have for myself are based on 4 criterion below.  The details will be discussed in future entries.

1.  Physical

a)  Achieve a BMI of around 22 by the end of 2011.  I am currently at 25.8 (overweight).

b)  Maintain the BMI of 22, and body fat percentage of 10% until I am 40 years old through consistent moderate/vigorous exercise 5 times a week, and healthy diet.

c)  Run my first 10k in 2011 and my first half marathon in 2012.  We’ll see where to go from there.

d)  By the end of 2012, I’ll look like this.

I will then have no problem to date Scarlett Johansson. Or maybe Julie Woon. Yeah.

2.  Social/Emotional

a)  Meet and hang out with at least one friend each week (harder than it looks for someone friendless like me), starting in maybe August 2011.

b)  Be involved in at least 1 or 2 days of volunteer/social work each week in 2011.  Maybe we can up the # of days in 2012?

c)  Do something nice for my wife each week.  The details of this will be kept secret.  Sorry.

3.  Mental

a)  Read 1 book a month.

b)  Learn the basics of Penang Hokkien within 2012.  Effectiveness will be determined by my ability to strike up conversations with neighbors and random people I meet in Penang.

c)  Start my Masters in 2012.  Finish by 2013 or 2014.

4.  Spiritual

a)  Start to consistently perform the full set of prayers daily starting now.  I have to confess I am VERY weak at this.

b)  Reread the whole Quran within 2011.

So this is my current draft.  Based on feedbacks and circumstances, I expect the list might be elongated and revised a few times.  I will need to think of the best ways to keep track of all of this.

Any ideas?

  1. Use technology and social networking on your side. I’ve learned to embrace this and its making me actually do things on my list.
    For the pemalas and procrastinators, you need constant reminder.
    Take a look at your habits, and sneak those elements into your habits.
    Use facebook, google calendars, smartphones, twitter. The goal is to always have it depan mata. Its like laying booby traps for yourself.

    – Goodreads.com : for your reading challenge. keep track of books, progress, and explore other books.
    – ebook readers/smartphone apps: books are unread when they’re on a stationary shelf in your house. but if its everywhere you go, you have no excuse. I’ve installed a quran and interpretation on every mobile electronic device I own, ipod, phone, kindle. The good thing about the quran its not a novela, got 5 minutes? no excuse.
    – google reader
    – free language podcasts
    – overlap your goals. go socialize while volunteering or working out or whatever.
    – micromanage. make small lists of detailed things and specific dates. small achievements motivate you to stay on track.
    – 43things.com << track your goals and see other people with similar goals and progress

    • Awesome Kak Jah. Some really brilliant ideas there, especially the “Overlap your goals” and the ebook. Now I just need to get me a smartphone lol.

      How are you btw? We really need to do some catching up Kak Jah.

  2. […] my entry of “The Plan“, a friend left a comment recommending the usage of a 43 Things.  In short, the site allows […]

Leave a Reply

